Cricket Holic.PK

Rohit Sharma becomes second Indian to cross 9000 T20 runs

  • 26

Rohit Sharma becomes second Indian to cross 9000 T20 runs

Rohit Sharma, the Indian opener became the second Indian with 9000+ T20 runs on Thursday as India appeared in the 4th T20I against England.

He needed only 11 runs to reach the milestone after making his first appearance in the home series on Tuesday.

He entered the elite list in the very first over bowled by spinner Adi Rashid. To cross 9000 runs, Sharma hit a terrific six followed by a four at Ahmedabad pitch.

Which players fall in the category of 9000+ t20 runs?

Seeing the list of players with over 9000 T20 runs, we have eight players but we will be discussing those falling in the category of 9000-9999 runs (not crossing 10,000 runs).

Shoaib Malik:

Image: ESPN

Pakistan’s crucial batsman, Shoaib Malik tops the list when talking about the players having 9000-9999 T20 runs. Notably, there are only two players crossing 10,000 T20 runs in their career out of which Kieron Pollard, and Chris Gayle of West Indies are denoted.

Malik achieved the milestone back in 2019 playing for Guyana Amazon Warriors against Barbados’ team. He became the fourth player to accumulate 9000 T20 runs.

Malik, with his career to continue in the format, has 9926 T20 runs.

Brendon McCullum:

brendon mccullum file afp
Image: CricketBolo

Brendon McCullum of New Zealand became the second player to cross 9000 T20 runs. Playing for the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) against the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in 2018, McCullum joined only Chris Gayle in the list at that time.

Brendon now accumulates 9922 T20 runs in his career.

Aaron Finch:

Image: CricketCounty

England vs Australia 2nd T20I in 2020 turned out to be record-making for Aaron Finch. He joined the table dominating players with 9000 and more T20 runs in cricket.

Australian limited-overs captain now has 9824 T20 runs to his name.

Virat Kohli:

Image: SportsNDTV

Virat Kohli became the first Indian to score 9000+ T20 runs as Sharma was yet to achieve the feat.

In 2020, during an IPL game against the Delhi Capitals, the RCB skipper put his potential to gather 9000 T20 runs and crossed the landmark.

He was just 10 runs away from the feat and now has 9650 T20 runs.

AB De Villiers:

De Villiers
Image: India Today

AB De Villiers is the only Proteas to have over 9000 T20 runs. He was one of those players to achieve the milestone in 2020.

Like Kohli, De Villiers proved to be record-making during IPL as he donned the RCB jersey against the Sun Risers Hyderabad. The player has 9111 T20 runs as of now.

Rohit Sharma:

Seeing sequentially, Sharma gathers the least runs in the category of 9000-9999 T20 scores as the other five players rank over him.

Rohit has always proved his worth as an opening batsman with a pile of centuries in the format.

Also, see:



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *