Cricket Holic.PK

Pak vs Zim T20I: Shadab’s substitute, Zahid Mehmood pulls himself out

  • 173
Pak vs Zim T20I: Shadab's substitute, Zahid Mehmood pulls himself out
Pak vs Zim T20I: Shadab’s substitute, Zahid Mehmood, pulls himself out. Image: Cricket Pakistan

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) had originally selected leg-spinner Shadab Khan in the T20I squad vs South Africa and Zimbabwe. After Shadab has been slaughtered ahead of the injury, he has been sidelined until fully fine.

As Pak vs SA T20I series commences, the leg-spinner is no more part of Pakistan’s playing XI. The men in green will soon be flying to Zimbabwe for a three-match T20I series and a two-match T20I series.

Having no Shadab, the PCB has indulged leg-spinner Zahid Mehmood for Pak vs Zim T20Is. Notably, Zahid is already a contribution on Pak vs Zim Tests but has been chosen as a replacement of Shadab Khan in the T20I series.

Zahid, who has never flown away ‘alone’ to any country via a plane, has informed the board that he has to sideline himself from the T20I series as he cannot travel alone.

The news suggested that he has a nervous breakdown on listening that he will have to travel alone by air. Upon his request, the board has eliminated from Pak vs Zim T20Is.

As of now, he will be traveling with the mates for the Test series. Mehmood and co are now scheduled to leave for Harare by 21st April to participate in two red-ball games.

Pak vs Zim T20I: Shadab’s substitute, Zahid Mehmood, pulls himself out

PCB wanted to send leg-spinner Zahid Mahmood, who had originally been picked for the Zimbabwe Test series, early as a replacement for Shadab Khan. But he informed the PCB that he had never traveled abroad & did not want to travel to Zimbabwe alone, Sajid Sadiq added on Twitter.

Here is the schedule:

T20I series:

1st T20I:

Date: 21st April, Venue: Harare Sports Club, Harare, Time: TBD

2nd T20I:

Date: 23rd April, Venue: Harare Sports Club, Harare, Time: TBD

3rd T20I:

Date: 25th April, Venue: Harare Sports Club, Harare, Time: TBD

Test series:

1st Test:

Date: 29th April-3rd May, Venue: Harare Sports Club, Harare, Time: TBD

2nd Test:

Date: 7th-11th May, Venue: Harare Sports Club, Harare, Time: TBD

Here are the Squads:

T20I squad Asif Ali, Babar Azam, Danish Aziz, Haider Ali, Mohammad Hafeez, Sharjeel Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Rizwan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Arshad Iqbal, Mohammad Hasnain, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Hasan Ali, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Waseem (Jnr), Zahid Mehmood (Shadab’s replacement has now pulled himself out), Usman Qadir

Test squad: Asad Shafiq, Abid Ali, Azhar Ali, Babar Azam, Fawad Alam, Imran Butt, Salman Ali Agha, Saud Shakeel, Faheem Ashraf, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Shahnawaz Dahani, Tabish Khan, Nauman Ali, Sajid Khan, Zahid Mehmood, Mohammad Nawaz, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Mohammad Rizwan

Also, see:

Pak vs SA 2nd ODI: List of records by Fakhar Zaman

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *