Cricket Holic.PK

Iftikhar Ahmed Gives Khyber Pakhtunkhwa their 2nd National T20 Cup

Iftikhar Ahmed Gives Khyber Pakhtunkhwa their 2nd National T20 Cup:

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa win their second back to back title of National T20 Cup. They became National T20 Champions in 2020 under the captaincy of Mohammad Rizwan while this time, Iftikhar Ahmed’s leadership skills have done the job for Khyber Pakhtunkhwa. KP defeated Central Punjab in the final in a one sided contest. KP won the toss and decided to bowl first in the final.

Central Punjab had a disastrous start to the final as they lost Mohammad Akhlaq on the second ball of the match. Imran Khan Sr provided the breakthrough. However Ahmed Shahzad and Kamran Akmal continued from where they had left in the Semi final. Shahzad and Kamran had a partnership of 85 runs and spend about 10 overs at the pitch. This partnership laid the foundation for a big score. Khalid Usman was the man who broke this partnership to bring KP back in the game. Kamran Akmal got out after scoring 42(29). Soon after Kamran, Ahmed Shahzad was undone by Iftikhar Ahmed and Central Punjab lost both their settled batsmen in back to back overs. Iftikhar Ahmed continued his magic and dismissed Saif Badar and Hussain Talat quickly to put CP further on the back foot. Qasim Akram tried to help Central Punjab a little bit but wickets kept on falling form the other end. Mohammad Imran and Arshad Iqbal further dismissed the lower order and the tail of Central Punjab to restrict them under 150. Apart from Kamran and Shahzad, only Qasim Akram scored more than 15 runs. Iftikhar Ahmed and Mohammad Imran were the pick of the bowlers with 3 wickets each.

394 256
Khyber Pakhtunkhwa players celebrate a wicket by their skipper Iftikhar Ahmed. Image Courtesy: PCB

KP also didn’t have a great start, as they lost Mohammad Haris in the second over. Sameen Gul provided the early breakthrough. However Sahibzada Farhan and Kamran Ghulam continued their good form and put up a partnership of 47 runs to bring KP back in the chase. Sahibzada Farhan lost his wicket after scoring 26(28) to Qasim Akram. Kamran Ghulam continued to tick the scorecard with Adil Admin, this 33 run stand between Kamran and Adil was broken by Muhammad Faizan. Kamran Ghulam was dismissed after scoring 37(31). Skipper Iftikhar Ahmed and Adil Amin continued to cruise through Central Punjab. The fifteenth over of KP’s inning assured that they are indeed the Champions of National T20 Cup. Iftikhar Ahmed went berserk to smash 20 runs against Muhammad Faizan. The already easy equation was further eased and KP’s victory was certain. Iftikhar Ahmed scored 45(19)* as he struck the winning shot to win the title for Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *