Cricket Holic.PK

First Finalists in each Inaugural Edition of T20 Leagues

  • 1

Twenty20 cricket or Twenty-20 (often abbreviated to T20) is a shortened format of cricket. At the professional level, it was introduced by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) in 2003 for the inter-county competition.
The first official Twenty20 match was played on 13 June 2003 between the English counties in the Twenty20 Cup in England which was a relative success, with the Surrey Lions defeating the Warwickshire Bears by nine wickets in the final to claim the title.

ICC had then given the T20 an International Status and in 2007 the First ICC World T20 was played in South Africa featuring Pakistan and India in the Final where India claimed the title.
After the popularity of Inaugural ICC World Twenty20 Cup in 2007 several T20 leagues started where Indian Premier League (IPL) being the first started by The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) which is now the largest cricket league.
In current era there are more than 15 T20 Leagues are being played in different countries. Here we are going to share with you the 1st ever Finalists in the Very First Edition of each popular T20 Leagues played in the World.

1- Indian Premier League (IPL) – (2008)

Image Courtesy : Getty Images

In the first edition of IPL Rajasthan Royals were the first team to book a place in the Finals with their win over Delhi Daredevils in the First Semi-Final and went on to win the title after beating Chennai Super Kings in the final. Rajasthan Royals is the only team so far among other Leagues who qualified first and won the Inaugural Edition. All other First Finalists of the Inaugural Editions have lost their Finals.

2- Big Bash League (BBL) – 2011

Image Courtesy : Getty Images

The first edition of BBL had 7 rounds then the knock-out (Semi-Finals). Perth Scorchers were the first team to qualify for the Final beating Melbourne Stars in the First Semi-Final. However Perth Scorchers failed to claim the Inaugural Title as they lost the Final to Sydney Sixers.

3- Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) – 2012

Image Courtesy : BPL

In Inaugural Edition of BPL in 2012 Barisal Burners became the first team to qualify for the Final beating Duronto Rajshahi in the First Semi-Final but they were not good enough to beat Dhaka Gladiators in the Final to win the Inaugural Edition.

4- Caribbean Premier League (CPL) – 2013

Image Courtesy : Getty Images

In 2013 when the first Semi-Final of Inaugural Edition of CPL was played between Guyana Amazon Warriors and Trinidad & Tobago Red Steel. And it was Guyuna Amazon Warriors who came out victorious to claim the first birth in the Final of it’s First Edition. Once again the first Finalists of the Inaugural Edition was beaten in the Final. And it was Jamaica Tallahwas who claimed the Inaugural Title.

5- Pakistan Super League (PSL) – 2016

Image Courtesy : Getty Images

The Inaugural Edition of PSL was held in UAE in 2016. Quetta Gladiators became to first team to book it’s place in the Final after beating Peshawar Zalmi in the playoffs. Another first Finalists team was beaten by the second Finalists of the Inaugural. Edition. The Final was held in Dubai Cricket Stadium and saw Islamabad United defeating Quetta Gladiators by 6 wickets to win the Inaugural Title.

6- Mzansi Super League – 2019

Image Courtesy : Getty Images

Tshwane Spartans were the first team to qualify for the Final of the Inaugural Edition in 2019 after beating Nelson Mandela Bay Giants in the Qualifier. However they were not able to beat the Pearl Rocks in the Final to win the Inaugural Title.

7- Lankan Premier League (LPL) – (2020)

Image Courtesy : Getty Images

And lastly, last night Galle Gladiators became the first team to book it’s birth in the Final of Inaugural Edition of LPL after winning a thriller. Galle Gladiators beaten Colombo Kings in the First Semi-Final on the penultimate delivery of the match. Second Semi-Final of LPL will be played today between Dambulla Vikings vs Jaffna Stallions and let us see who wins and qualify for the final? And who will emerge the Champion of the Inaugural Edition of Lanka Premier League? You can make your predictions on our Instagram Page and subscribe to our website for the live scores to find out the Champions.

One thought on “First Finalists in each Inaugural Edition of T20 Leagues

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *