Cricket Holic.PK

Babar Azam to Captain Karachi Kings | How Many Players Have Captained KK Before?

Babar Azam to Captain Karachi Kings | How Many Players Have Captained KK Before?

Pakistan’s all format captain and star batsman, Babar Azam has been named the new captain of Karachi Kings for the seventh edition of Pakistan Super League. The announcement was made by Salman Iqbal, the owner of Karachi Kings himself. Karachi Kings were captained by Imad Wasim in PSL 6. Imad is the only PSL winning captain of Karachi Kings however after Karachi Kings were eliminated from PSL 6 in the eliminator, Imad has now been replaced.

This won’t be the PSL Captaincy debut of Babar Azam. Babar has led Karachi Kings earlier as well. He led Karachi Kings in PSL 5 in their final group match and ended on the losing side against Quetta Gladiators. Babar Azam is just the 4th Pakistani and 7th overall player to lead Karachi Kings in PSL. Before Babar, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Amir, Eoin Morgan, Ravi Bopara, Kumar Sangakkara and Shoaib Malik have also captained Karachi Kings.

Imad Wasim was the most successful skipper of Karachi Kings. Imad had a win percentage of 53.84. Kumar Sangakkara had the 2nd Best Win percentage for Karachi Kings as captain with 50 percent.

There is no doubt in Babar Azam being an all-time great in PSL History. Babar Azam is currently the highest run-getter in PSL with 2070 runs in 58 matches. No other batsman has crossed the 2000 run mark yet in PSL history. Babar Azam has also enjoyed success as Pakistan’s skipper in the shortest format of the game. He recently leveled the record of Sarfaraz Ahmed for having most T20I wins in calendar year as captain.

Also Read: Abdullah Shafique Silences Critics After Creating Records on Debut

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *